Cosmic Marvel >> View Post
Post By
Reverend Meteor

Member Since: Sat May 17, 2008
Posts: 11,689
In Reply To
Don Campbell

Member Since: Fri Aug 18, 2017
Posts: 7
Subj: Re: Ultimates 100 - final issue
Posted: Wed Aug 23, 2017 at 09:16:41 am EDT (Viewed 373 times)
Reply Subj: Re: Ultimates 100 - final issue
Posted: Sat Aug 19, 2017 at 02:21:28 am EDT (Viewed 412 times)


    The splash page (by which I think you mean pages 26-27) shows the Multiverses Assembled. To be more precise, it showed us the First Firmament (who is NOT a multiverse) being confronted by six Multiverses and mentioned one multiverse who was missing. One universe and seven multiverses makes a total of eight cosmoses. The Second is the Second Cosmos who was the first of the multiverses, The Fourth is the multiverse who is missing from the assembly, The Fifth is the Dark Cosmos of deep magic where the evil wizard Mor-I-Dun originated, The Sixth is where Galan of Taa was born, The Seventh is Infinity (Eternity's sister-self who is now a separate entity from her brother-self since his death) and The Eighth is the reborn Eternity himself.

    Explanation #1: There was one universe and seven multiverses which together made eight cosmoses. This is what you have been saying. All you have to do to make this true is admit that the First Firmament and the ghost of the Shaper of Worlds were both wrong when they claimed that the Eternity who died and his reborn self were both the seventh and eighth MULTIVERSES because a universe can never be a multiverse.

Yes that IS my contention. When it came time to show the Eternities we were told the First Firmament was one of them, there was a second through sixth (well Fourth was missing but was mentioned) and Eternity represents seventh and eight (and Infinity = Eternity so she doesn't matter).

For you to be right there has to be an Eternity that is omitted somewhere between Second and Sixth so that there would be 1 universe and 8 Multiverses for a total of 9 iterations. But that's not the case.

The whole story taken as a whole shows us there is one universe (the first Firmament) and seven multiverses (second, third, fourth, fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth...with seventh and eighth having the same eternity).

For me to be right it only requires you to accept the belief that Ewing (or an editor) used the word multiverse too freely and lumped the First Firmament's universe in with the Multiverse count. And my assertion all along is that this entire series has told us there were 8 iterations of the universe/multiverse starting with the 2nd issue with the Living Tribunal's comment about the 8th Cosmos.

So either we accept Ewing (or an editor) messed up on the splash page where Eternity/Infity are seven or Ewing (or an editor) messed up by calling a Universe a Multiverse. That's what we're arguing about...we can't agree which one of these 2 is the mistake and which one isn't. But a mistake has been made somewhere.

    So, this explanation is pretty much what you've been saying, right?


Posted with Mozilla Firefox 55.0 on Windows 7
Alvaro's Comicboards powered by On Topic™ © 2003-2018 Powermad Software
All the content of these boards Copyright © 1996-2018 by Alvaro Ortiz and Dave Galanter. Software Copyright © 2003-2018 Powermad Software