Dave Galanter
December 1st 1969 - December 12th 2020
He was loved.

Black Panther >> View Post
Post By
Bob Almond

Location: New Bedford, MA
Member Since: Tue Oct 14, 2008
Posts: 28
Subj: OT: The 2009 Inkwell Awards are a GO!!! (official press release)
Posted: Mon May 18, 2009 at 06:47:02 pm EDT (Viewed 391 times)


The INKWELL AWARDS have returned for their second big year. More information can be found at the official and regularly updated and expanded web-site (http://www.inkwellawards.com)


After the results of the first Inkwell Awards much has changed. Two of the founding members, inker Tim Townsend and publisher Bill Nichols, chose to step down. Replacing both men are inker Dave Simons (Ghost Rider, Army Of Darkness) and art representative Bob Shaw (Comic Art House). Both men have brought vision and energy to the Awards.


After the 2008 Awards it was decided, by committee, that the Awards would be streamlined and no longer career retrospective in theme (except for the Hall of Fame). As such there are new categories for 2009 and they are as follows:

Favorite Inker: favourite inker over another's pencil art from '08 material

Most Adaptable: showing exceptional ink style versatility over other pencil artists in '08

Props Award: inker over others' pencil art deserving of more attention from '08

The SPAMI: favourite Small Press And Mainstream-Independent: '08 cover-dated ink work over another pencil artist (Non-Marvel or DC work)

All In One Award: Favourite artist known for almost-exclusively inking his/her own pencil work and rarely the work of others in '08

The Joe Sinnott Award: Hall Of Fame designation for an inking career of outstanding accomplishment. Lifetime achievement (minimum 15 years) not limited to '08 material.


The voting process has also been refined. Instead of an open ballot, ala 2008, this year has seen a collection of nominators consisting of notable industry experts, journalists and professionals alike who have elected to vote for artists in those categories. The nominators will elect the artists they believe fit the categories, the committee will validate those choices, and voting will then be open for the general public. The overall winners will be those artists with the most votes at the end of the process. A full list of the nominators can be found at the Inkwell Awards web-site (http://www.inkwellawards.com/friends.html). The nominators will be a rotating list, changing from year to year, to ensure diversity and fairness in both the nominating and voting process.

May 2009 will see the final tallying of the nominations as the ballots are received. The official ballot of nominations will be posted on June 1st and voting will run for the entire month, ending June 30th.


2009 has seen the Inkwell Awards connecting with a growing list of supporters and affiliates within the comic book industry. Notable artists who have donated their time and art include Whilce Portacio, Steve Rude, Alan Weiss, Dave Simons, Trevor Von Eeeden, Scott Wegener, Steve Rude, Walter Simonson, Paul Gulacy, Dick Ayers, Mark Texeria, Bob Layton, Jim Starlin, Paul Ryan, Joe Sinnott, Norm Breyfogle, Alan Kupperberg and many more. The outpouring of support for these awards has been heartening and warmly welcomed. To additionally raise revenue for expenses, a collection of '08 sketch donations signed by multiple contributors, are free with a donation of $10. In addition to this The 2009 San Jose Super-Con will be selling an ashcan for their annual Inking Panel to also raise funds.

THE INKWELL AWARDS are an all new, exciting award set up to celebrate the often overlooked and under-appreciated artistry of inking within the comic book industry. THE INKWELL AWARDS have been established and overseen by a number of professionals from all aspects of the comic book industry, including such artists as award founder and director Bob Almond (Black Panther, Annihilation: Conquest-Quasar, Warlock), James Tournas (Full Moon Craze, Shylock, Epoch), Dave Simons (Ghost Rider, Army Of Darkness) along with Bob Shaw (Comic Art House) and Daniel Best (Andru & Esposito: Partners For Life) and fully-supported by Adam Hughes (Tomb Raider, Justice League, Wonder Woman, All Star Wonder Woman) along with senior DC Editor Mike Marts (Uncanny X-Men, X-Men, Wolverine, All Star Wonder Woman).


BOB ALMOND (bob@almondink.com)

DANIEL BEST (snoopy967@gmail.com)

Posted with Apple Safari 4.0 on MacOS X
Alvaro's Comicboards powered by On Topic™ © 2003-2021 Powermad Software
All the content of these boards Copyright © 1996-2021 by Comicboards/TVShowboards. Software Copyright © 2003-2021 Powermad Software